Ingredient 1 of 7
Niacin (Vitamin B3) in Memodyne: What 7.5 mg NE Adds to Your Day
Each Memodyne capsule holds 7.5 mg NE of niacin, or 47% of the 16 mg Daily Value. That sits well under the 35 mg daily ceiling for supplements and below the 30-50 mg nicotinic acid range tied to flushing. The label does not name the form. Its link to memory is limited to people with a genuine shortage (NIH ODS, Niacin).
Written by the Memodyne editorial teamUpdated
The first line on the panel
What is niacin, and how much is in Memodyne?
Niacin is vitamin B3, one of the B vitamins your body needs to turn food into usable energy. Memodyne prints it first on the Supplement Facts panel, at 7.5 mg NE in each capsule.
That equals 47% of the Daily Value, the only sizable % DV on the label. Calcium shows just 1.5%, and the five amino acid lines have no Daily Value (NIH ODS, Niacin).
| Label name | Niacin |
|---|---|
| Scientific name | Vitamin B3; form not given |
| What it is | Vitamin |
| Position in the list | 1 of 7 (every line prints its own amount) |
| Per capsule | 7.5 mg NE (47% DV) |
| Amount used in research | Adult need 14-16 mg NE; supplement ceiling 35 mg a day |
| Strength of evidence | Matters only if you are short |
| Traditional or marketed use | A B vitamin, close to half the Daily Value |
| Main caution | Add it to the niacin in your multivitamin; nicotinic acid flushes from about 30-50 mg. |
Meat, fish, poultry, whole grains and fortified bread already supply niacin to most diets. So the real question is how much you get now, and what one capsule adds on top.
Reading the unit
What does "mg NE" mean on the Memodyne label?
The letters are short for niacin equivalents: one tally that adds food niacin to the niacin your body makes.
Your body turns part of the tryptophan in protein-rich meals into niacin. Counting in NE folds both routes into a single figure, so adult targets and the Daily Value carry the same tag (NIH ODS, Niacin).
On a capsule label, mg NE and plain milligrams of niacin line up closely. Set the 7.5 mg beside the targets below.
| Benchmark | Amount | One capsule covers |
|---|---|---|
| Daily Value (food and supplement labels) | 16 mg NE | 47% |
| Daily need, adult men | 16 mg NE | 47% |
| Daily need, adult women | 14 mg NE | About 54% |
| Ceiling for pills plus fortified foods | 35 mg | About 21% |

Upper limit
How much niacin per day is too much?
Adults should keep niacin from pills and fortified foods, added together, at 35 mg a day or less (NIH ODS, Niacin). Niacin that occurs naturally in a meal does not count toward that cap.
One Memodyne capsule uses about a fifth of the ceiling. Taken alone, at the label's dose of one a day, it stays far below it. The risk comes from stacking: a multivitamin, a B-complex, an energy drink and a fortified cereal can each add their own share.
Two capsules would barely move your niacin total, but they would double the L-arginine, which carries its own cautions on the L-arginine page. Stick to the single capsule the label sets.
Flushing
Will the niacin in Memodyne cause flushing?
Unlikely at 7.5 mg. The well-known niacin flush, a warm, red, sometimes itchy skin, is tied to about 30-50 mg or more of nicotinic acid (NIH ODS, Niacin).
Niacin in supplements comes in two main forms. Nicotinic acid is the one that flushes. Nicotinamide, also called niacinamide, does not. The Memodyne label just says "Niacin" and never names the form.
- If the form is nicotinamide, flushing is not expected at any amount discussed here.
- If the form is nicotinic acid, one capsule still sits well under the 30 mg mark.
- Adding a separate niacin product could push a nicotinic acid total into the flushing range.
Neither the label nor the sales page confirms the form. If it matters to you, ask the distributor on the bottle before ordering.
Add it up
Should you check your other products for niacin?
Yes. Niacin hides in many everyday products, and the 35 mg ceiling counts all supplement and fortified sources together.
| Product | Where to look | What to note |
|---|---|---|
| Memodyne | First line of the Supplement Facts | 7.5 mg NE per capsule, form not stated |
| Daily multivitamin | Vitamin section of its panel | Often lists niacin or niacinamide with its own % DV |
| B-complex product | Supplement Facts | These can carry several times the Daily Value |
| Energy drinks and shots | Nutrition or Supplement Facts | Often list B vitamins, niacin among them |
| Fortified cereal or bars | Nutrition Facts | Counts toward the 35 mg ceiling |
| Prescription niacin | Pharmacy label | Doctor-managed; ask before adding any niacin supplement |
| Your daily total | Add the rows above | Aim to keep supplement and fortified niacin at or under 35 mg |
Write down the form too. "Nicotinic acid" adds to flushing risk; "niacinamide" does not. A pharmacist can check a surprising total in minutes.

Ready to try Memodyne?6 bottles $294 ($49 each) · 60-day refund window · free U.S. shipping on 3 or 6
Order nowMemory
Is niacin linked to memory?
Only in a narrow way. Pellagra, the disease of severe B3 shortage, brings fatigue, headache, low mood, apathy and memory loss (NIH ODS, Niacin). Restoring niacin helps in that setting.
Pellagra is rare where diets include meat, grains and fortified foods. With a normal intake, our sources show no recall benefit from extra niacin. A federal review of supplements for thinking found no clear gain from B vitamins either (NCCIH, Supplements for cognition).
Treatable problems such as depression, medicine reactions, thyroid trouble or liver and kidney disease can affect memory. A capsule is no reason to put off that appointment (NCCIH, Supplements for cognition). The memory health guide lists what to watch for.
Medicine checks
Does niacin interact with any medicines?
Two kinds of medicine matter most for niacin: tuberculosis drugs and anything used to manage blood sugar.
Isoniazid and pyrazinamide
Both TB drugs can disrupt the body's handling of niacin (NIH ODS, Niacin). Your doctor may already be tracking your B vitamins. Show them the Memodyne label first, and keep taking your prescribed medicine as directed.
Diabetes and large doses
Big doses of nicotinic acid may push glucose up (NIH ODS, Niacin). One capsule is nowhere near that. Even so, if you track glucose, tell your care team about every niacin source you take.
Memodyne also contains L-arginine, which has a longer list of medicine interactions. The side effects page covers the full capsule.
Fair verdict
Is the niacin in Memodyne a good thing or a weak spot?
Mostly harmless and clearly printed, with one open question about its form.
In its favor
- Amount printed in mg NE, with a % DV beside it
- Close to half of what an adult needs each day
- Well under the 35 mg ceiling at the label dose
- Below the usual flushing range in either form
Open questions
- The form (nicotinic acid or nicotinamide) is not stated
- No reason is given for including it in a memory formula
- Easy to double up if you already take a multivitamin
- Helps memory only when someone is truly short of B3
Compare niacin with the rest of the capsule on the ingredient overview, or read every printed word on the Supplement Facts guide.
FAQ
Memodyne niacin questions
What does NE stand for on the Memodyne Supplement Facts?
It is short for niacin equivalents, a single figure covering food niacin plus what your body makes from tryptophan. Memodyne's 7.5 mg NE equals 47% of the 16 mg Daily Value (NIH ODS, Niacin).
Is 7.5 mg of niacin a day safe?
For most healthy adults, yes. Pills and fortified foods together should stay at or under 35 mg a day, and 7.5 mg is about a fifth of that (NIH ODS, Niacin). Add up any multivitamin or B-complex you already use before you start.
Which form of niacin does Memodyne use?
The bottle leaves that blank; its panel reads simply "Niacin" at 7.5 mg NE. Nicotinic acid can flush at 30-50 mg or more, while nicotinamide does not, so at one capsule either form stays below the flushing range (NIH ODS, Niacin).
Does a multivitamin plus Memodyne push niacin too high?
Usually not, but read the multivitamin's niacin line first. Add its milligrams to Memodyne's 7.5 mg and keep the total from supplements and fortified foods at or under 35 mg a day. A pharmacist can check the sum for you.
Can niacin deficiency cause memory loss?
Yes. Pellagra, a severe niacin shortage, causes memory loss along with depression, apathy, headache and fatigue (NIH ODS, Niacin). It is uncommon in the U.S., and extra niacin does not help memory in people whose intake is already normal.
Does the niacin in Memodyne affect blood sugar?
Not at this amount, as far as our sources show. High intakes of the nicotinic acid form can lift glucose (NIH ODS, Niacin), but 7.5 mg is small. If you manage diabetes, list every niacin product for your care team anyway.
Can I take Memodyne while on isoniazid for TB?
Check with the doctor treating your TB before you start. Isoniazid and pyrazinamide both affect niacin status (NIH ODS, Niacin), so that doctor may prefer to handle B vitamins personally. Never stop or change a dose of TB medicine on your own.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
Plain-language pages built from the label, the sales page and linked public health sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by a USA authorized retailer that sells Memodyne, not by the maker (the label says distributed by Gex Corporation LLP, Ogden, UT). We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Memodyne

Ingredients
All seven Memodyne label lines with their amounts, the wrong lists some review sites show, and what the capsule is made of.
Read more
Supplement Facts
Every line of the Memodyne bottle, typed out and explained, plus what the label leaves out and how to match your own bottle.
Read more
Side effects
Possible reactions to each Memodyne label line, the medicines L-arginine can clash with, and the signs that mean stop or call 911.
Read moreUSA Authorized Memodyne Retailer
Ready to try Memodyne?
The sales page offers 2, 3 or 6 bottles. Six bottles cost $49 each, and 3 or 6 ship free in the U.S.
- Secure checkout
- 60-day window
- Ships from the U.S. with tracking
